If you’ve been convicted of a DUI here in California, then you’re facing a difficult path to get back on the road. It will take time, money, and dedication to attain your license and insurance, and to have your record expunged should you choose to do so. Let’s take a look at what you can expect from a DUI conviction, and let’s delve into some of the steps that you may have to take to recover from a DUI conviction.
What to Expect From a DUI Conviction in California
A DUI conviction will be met with a litany of consequences, which can include jail time, fines, DUI school, and license revocation. Depending on the circumstances of the infraction, the number of previous DUI convictions that have occured, and the court sentencing, you could face up to 16 years in prison (for the most severe convictions), as well as up to $5,000 in fines, between three and 30 months of DUI school, and license revocation between six months and five years. In addition, you’ll have to attain SR-22 insurance, an insurance service that is specifically for drivers who have been deemed “high-risk”; read more about obtaining SR-22 insurance below.
Attaining SR-22 Insurance
The state of California may deem an individual a “high-risk” driver if they are convicted of a DUI. As such, you’ll have to obtain special insurance. Seek an SR-22 insurance provider. Get in touch with a representative here at Red Line Insurance if you live in California. We work with folks throughout the state to help them attain affordable SR-22 insurance for “high-risk” drivers. We strive to make SR-22 insurance attainable and easy, so that you can get back to your day to day routine. Feel free to learn more about our SR-22 insurance services.
Reclaiming Your Driver’s License
Your driver’s license will be taken away during your arrest. You’re likely asking yourself, when will I get my license back? The California DMV tells us when you can expect to get your license:
“Your driver license will be returned to you at the end of the suspension or revocation, provided you pay a $125 reissue fee to the DMV and you file proof of financial responsibility. The reissue fee remains at $100 if you were under age 21 and were suspended under the Zero Tolerance Law pursuant to Vehicle Code §§23136, 13353.1, 13388, 13392. If it is determined that there is not a basis for the suspension or revocation, your driver license will be issued or returned to you.” In addition, you may be issued an Order of Suspension and Temporary License. In this case, you can drive again after 30 days, so long as your license is valid. You can also obtain a restricted license to travel to and from work if you apply at a DMV field office.
Expunging Your Record
If you’d like to expunge your record, you may be able to apply for dismissal after three years if you’ve only had one DUI conviction. DUI convictions normally remain on your record for 10 years after a conviction. However, if you keep a clean driving record and aren’t facing any charges or probation, you can apply for a Petition for Dismissal. Speak with an attorney to learn more about the expungement process and requirements here in California.
Here at Red Line Insurance, we understand that navigating through a DUI conviction and sentencing can be difficult. We hope we’ve helped to make the process a little bit easier. Again, if you need SR-22 insurance, we can help. Reach out to us to get started.